Resting In His Presence

Speed! How fast can we do that and that and that so we can do that? With so much to get done, do we ever have a chance to slow down and soak in God’s presence? Maybe we simply need to make time. He’s the God of the universe and the only thing that truly matters, so shouldn’t we make time for him?

This past week I went camping near a lake. In a beautiful environment like that, it’s hard not to praise God, and spend time with him. Yet, I need to take time to rest in God’s presence when I’m at home. Even in the mundane, everyday life, let’s take time to rest and reflect.

Here are three questions about rest and reflection:

What’s the best time for rest?

Personally, I like the evening best, but the best time is whenever you can find a peaceful minute.

Where’s the best place for rest?

For me, it’s outside. I feel closer to God when I’m in his creation. You want to find a quiet place. If you prefer the indoors then wait until it’s quiet in the house.

Quick note: it’s not about the place and time as much as the heart. Though a quiet place is defiantly ideal.

How do we rest?

  1. By simply sitting in relaxation.
  2. By thinking about and praising God.
  3. By thanking God for his blessings.
  4. By listening to God.

We live busy lives, I get that, but let’s try to take a few minutes every day to rest in God’s presence.

Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.                                                             ~ Psalm 46:10

One thought on “Resting In His Presence

Leave a comment